Lost songs 4: Someone’s singing in the street again, New York new York – Ghostwriters

Ghostwriters was a project started by Rob Hurst the drummer from Midnight Oil in 1990 while Midnight Oil were on a break reading history books and thinking of political lyrics. Errr…. yes a side project…I know I feel dirty too.

Rob Hurst has always been the secret weapon of Midnight Oil, not only is the guy an imaginative and solid drummer (rare enough if my musical experience is anything to go by) but he is also a great singer, some of the best parts of Midnight Oil songs are his harmonies coming in.

I mean I love the Oils but the part of this song that I love the most is when “RAIIINNNNN” and “CALLLLMMEEEEEEE” kicks in and that’s Rob Hurst.

There is an argument to be made the Rob is a better singer than Peter…..but he’s not as distinctive. Peter is…well….look political career not withstanding…that is a fucking unique voice.

But Rob can sing as he proved with the Ghostwriters song

What I love about this song first and foremost is that it is just fucking joyous!

I love sad songs; I write sad songs. Some of my favorite songs of all time are sad. But sometimes a song that is pure joy is the best thing ever and this is one of those songs.

Initially, it sounds like any other Midnight Oil song.

“Nothing has happened in my old town
Since the line closed down
My old Studebaker’s gone
Nothing has happened to the people ’round here
In nearly twenty-five years
Then everything started to go wrong”

Let’s see, the town used to have rail service, the government probably closed that down…check

Someone stole his car…ok a little unusual but check…or he had to sell it because the government does not provide a living wage! Double-check.

The people are boring….um…. sure.

Oh, things started to go wrong….yup check!

It’s just like an Oils song.

But then some bastard has the gaul to be happy. And sing in the street again, New York, New York. Someone despite all this misery and government mismanagement is happy. And singing about it!

Honestly, the rest of the song is like this, bad shit is happening, this town is terrible. No-one is happy …except this one guy who can’t keep it inside!!!

I like that guy, he’s great. He makes this song. Not only does he sing in the street, he can’t fucking stop! It’s all shit but something is going right for him he’s out there spreading cheer! Unless it’s 3am…

But despite the fact that it’s about a shit Queensland town where everyone is out of work this song makes me happy. It only reached number 28 on the Australian singles charts in 1991 but I remember loving it. Written by Rob Hurst I think he made the right decision not to take it to Midnight Oil it’s to much fun. It is not political enough. And to close I will put here my favorite Oils song. Featuring Rob Hurst’s amazing vocals.

Leave a comment